Join the Trust →


The Trust is a registered charity and company limited by guarantee, its work is directed by a Board of Trustees elected by the membership at Annual Meetings. The Trust also has a significant support base and has attracted many members. Trustees come from a range of backgrounds but all share the same passion for the Mechanics’ Institution and the wider Swindon community.

The day-to-day management of the Trust is led by the Board supported by a very small team of paid staff and contractors. The Trust also relies on the kind support of many volunteers and supporters who bring a range of skills and enthusiasm to the work of the organisation.

The current Board is made up of the following people:

  • David Thackray – Chair
  • Martha Parry – Trustee
  • Katie Knowles – Trustee
  • Jen Hall – Trustee
  • Donald Brunwin – Trustee
  • Sally Cole – Trustee
  • Chris Carlton – Trustee